Hyderabad: What a game of cricket that was. A super cricket final made a super Sunday. Mumbai Indians won the IPL title against defending champion Chennai Super King by just one run. Such finals are very rare in history, but it happened tonight.

Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first. It wasn't an ideal start for MI as they kept on losing wickets with regular interval. That also slower the scoring rate. The highest scorer was Kieron Pollard who scored 41 off 25 balls with the help of three sixes and three fours. Pollard innings help them to finish on a decent total of 149 runs.

It wasn't a big ask for the defending champion. When you have skipper like Dhoni in the dugout, such victories are on the doorstep. But not this time, two runouts while chasing and the game slips away.

Faf Duplessis and Shane Watson gave a decent start to CSK. Duplessis scored 26 with the strike rate of 200. Other than Duplessis and Watson no one entered the twenties. 

Ms. Dhoni, the fastest runner between the wicket, was run out at the crucial stage of the match. Dhoni scored 2 off 8, and his wicket was a turning point for CSK. 

Watson who was looking extremely dangerous was runout on 80 on the 4th ball of last over. He scored 80 runs off 59 balls with the help of four sixes and eight fours. When CSK required 2 to win and 1 to tie off the last ball, Lasith Malinga gets rid of Shardul Thakur and prove his supremacy at 35.
Though Malinga bowled a brilliant last over under pressure, it was Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar bowling that helped MI to win the final. They both conceded 14 runs in their 4 overs spell.

Mumbai has already beaten the CSK in IPL 2013 and 2015 finals. They have also won by one run against Rising Pune Supergiant in 2017 final. They became the first team to win the four IPL titles.

Odd year of cricket, a lucky charm for Rohit Sharma. They won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. 

Speak Cricket | Live Cricket